Content about the Green Bay Packers powered by Annex Wealth ManagementFull Bio


Favre, Nelson to be inducted into Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame

The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame, which already includes Wisconsin athletic icons Hank Aaron, Oscar Robertson, Vince Lombardi, Bart Starr, and Bonnie Blair, announced today that Green Bay Packers legends Brett Favre and Jordy Nelson have been selected for induction into the 70th Anniversary Class of the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame on June 5, 2020, in Madison, WI.

Favre and Nelson, who created so many legendary moments for the Packers over the past three decades, will join 143 of the state’s greatest athletic icons, including Barry Alvarez, Al McGuire, Bud Selig, Junior Bridgeman, Donald Driver, Charles Woodson, Herb Kohl, Bob Harlan, Robin Yount, Sidney Moncrief, Herbert Kohler, Jr., and Bob Uecker.

“I am looking forward to going into the 70th anniversary class of the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame,” said Favre, who led the Packers to a Super Bowl Championship in Super Bowl XXXI.

Added Nelson, who holds the 100-year-old All-Time Record for receiving yards in a season for the Packers. “It is an honor to go into the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame on June 5, 2020, in Madison.”

Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame Board President Donald Driver said Favre and Nelson were both uniquely qualified, “We are honored and excited to welcome two legendary Packers, and two of my good friends to this historic institution,” said Driver, who was inducted in the Hall of Fame at the 65th Anniversary Induction.

Interested organizations can contact the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame at 414-727-3605 or to purchase tables. Select tables will afford guests the opportunity to mix and mingle with current and past Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Famers. Due to early demand before the announcement, only 250 seats remain for this event and people interested in attending are encouraged to act quickly to guarantee a seat this prestigious event. Further details on additional awards and venue specifics will be announced in January.

As a Packer, Favre became the only player in NFL history to win three consecutive NFL MVP Awards. Favre also led the team to a Super Bowl Championship in Super Bowl XXXI. Favre’s passing prowess continued at a record pace through the years and by the end of 2007, his last in Green Bay, he had supplanted Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Marino as the NFL career passing leader in attempts, completions, yards, and touchdowns. Favre, an NFL ironman who played in a record 299 consecutive games, posted totals of 6,300 completions, 10,169 attempts, 71,838 yards, and 508 touchdowns in his 302-game NFL career. He was named to the NFL 1990s All-Decade Team. Favre was honored a remarkable 11 times as a Pro Bowl player. His #4 jersey has been retired by the Green Bay Packers. Favre was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2016. Brett Favre and Reggie White (Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee in 2005) are widely credited for being the two impact players that led the charge to bring the “Title” back to “Titletown” following a 30-year Packers Super Bowl drought.

In 100 seasons for the Green Bay Packers franchise, no one has had more receiving yards than Jordy Nelson in 2014 with 1,519 yards. Nelson earned NFL Comeback Player of the Year as a Packer in 2016. In 10 seasons with the Packers, Nelson ranks No. 3 in franchise history in receptions (550), No. 5 in receiving yards (7,848), No. 2 in touchdown receptions (69) and No. 3 in 100-yard receiving games (25). Nelson is the only player in Green Bay Packers history to record three seasons with 13-plus touchdown receptions (2011, 2014, 2016). Nelson posted at least 1,250-plus receiving yards and 13-plus touchdown catches in the same season three times in his career (2011, 2014, 2016), the fourth-most in NFL history behind Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice (six), Randy Moss (five) and Terrell Owens (four). Nelson led the Packers with nine receptions for 140 yards and a TD in the Super Bowl XLV victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers. Nelson was just the fourth receiver in Super Bowl history with nine-plus receptions for at least 140 yards and a touchdown.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content