High School Sports

High School Sports

High school football and basketball coverage in Wisconsin, with schedules and content from wissports.net.


WisSports.net Week 9 Projected Football Playoff Field

Travis Wilson of WisSports.net projects the 2019 high school football playoff field in Wisconsin. Here's where area teams are projected to end up with one week to go in the regular season.

Keep in mind that things can and will change, and these are not the final or official playoff designations.

Teams that have clinched or become playoff-eligible are in bold text below. Only The Big 1070 coverage area teams are noted below, and if a school is listed with two divisions, it's because their projection has them within five schools of a divisional cut line.

The entire projection is available by clicking here.

Of note, Travis projects every 4-5 team (conference play) in the state to make the playoffs, and 13 of 15 teams that finish 3-4 in conference play to make it as well. Last week, the projection had all 4-5 and 3-4 teams in, as well as one 2-3 squad.

Changes from last week: Along the cut lines, Stoughton moves from fourth-largest D3 team to fifth-largest, so it appears the Vikings will be solidly Division 3 when the playoffs begin. Everything else stayed remarkably similar, as no teams entered or dropped out of the projections, and the teams along the cutlines (with the exception of Stoughton) remained the same.

Division 1: Sun Prairie, Middleton, Madison West, Madison Memorial, Verona, Madison La Follette.

Division 1/2: None.

Division 2: Waunakee, Watertown, Oregon, Milton, Monona Grove

Division 2/3: DeForest (smallest school in Division 2), Stoughton (fifth-largest school in Division 3)

Division 3: Reedsburg, Sauk Prairie, McFarland, Monroe

Division 3/4: Jefferson (second-smallest school in Division 3), East Troy (second-largest school in Division 4), Evansville (fourth-largest school in Division 4)

Division 4: Mauston, Big Foot, Edgerton, Lodi, Lake Mills, Lakeside Lutheran

Division 4/5: River Valley (fifth-smallest school in Division 4), Platteville (largest school in Division 5), Columbus (third-largest school in Division 5), Wautoma (fourth-largest school in Division 5)

Division 5: Horicon/Hustisford, New Glarus/Monticello, Prairie du Chien

Division 5/6: Marshall (fifth-smallest school in Division 5), Cambridge (fifth-largest school in Division 6)

Division 6: Lancaster, Markesan, Benton/Scales Mound/Shullsburg, Palmyra-Eagle, Cuba City, Darlington, Mineral Point

Division 6/7: Johnson Creek (smallest school in Division 6), Potosi/Cassville (third-largest school in Division 7), River Ridge (fourth-largest school in Division 7)

Division 7: Black Hawk/Warren, Wauzeka-Steuben/Seneca, Riverdale, De Soto, Ithaca, Highland

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content