High School Sports

High School Sports

High school football and basketball coverage in Wisconsin, with schedules and content from wissports.net.


Badger Conference Announces Winter Sports All-Conference Teams

Badger North and South All-Conference teams were announced for winter sports on Monday, highlighted by the state's Miss Basketball, Monona Grove's McKenna Warnock, earning one of two unanimous selections to the Badger South Girls Basketball First Team.

In Boys Basketball, the Badger North all-conference team includes Player of the Year Austin Westra of DeForest, Gunnar Nortman and Jason Larson of conference champion Mount Horeb, Eli Considine of Portage, and Will Fuhrmann of Reedsburg. All five were unanimous selections. The second team is comprised of Mount Horeb's Bryce Farnsworth, Waunakee's Will Knatz, DeForest's Trey Schroeder, Beaver Dam's Cade Ferron, and Sauk Prairie's Jack Henderson.

The Badger South team had three unanimous selections, including Player of the Year Caden Nelson of Monona Grove, Kade King of Monroe, and Adam Hobson of Stoughton. Joining the trio on the first team were Edgewood's Michael Meriggioli and Oregon's Ethan Victorson. The second team had a pair of Monona Grove players, Sam Hepp and Henry Huston, as well as Cade Meyer of Monroe, Erik Victorson (Ethan's brother) of Oregon, and freshman Jack Campion of Milton.

Girls Basketball selects 10 to the first-team, and in the Badger North, there were two unanimous selections. Maty Wilke and Tara Stauffacher of Beaver Dam led the way with three other Beaver Dam teammates joining them on the first team. Paige Schumann, Jada Donaldson, and Aly Van Loo were also first-team all-Badger North, as the Division 2 state champion Beaver Dam Golden Beavers had five total selections to the first team. Waunakee teammates Maddie Farnsworth and Elena Maier, the Reedsburg duo of Ava Douglas and Trenna Cherney, and DeForest post Aleah Grundahl rounded out the Badger North honors.

The Badger South was home to 2019's Miss Basketball in Wisconsin, McKenna Warnock of Monona Grove (listen below). Warnock, who was named WisSports.net's top senior wing in the state this season and will play college ball at Iowa, was one of only two unanimous choices on the first team, along with Wisconsin recruit and WisSports.net's top senior point guard Sydney Hilliard of Monroe. Two of Hilliard's Cheesemakers teammates were on the first team as well, sisters Emily and Megan Benzschawel. Baluck Deang of Edgewood, Chloe Buescher of Milton, Peighton Trieloff of Stoughton, Teya Maas of Watertown, and both Liz Uhl and Kaitlyn Schrimpf of Oregon make up the rest of the first team honorees in the Badger South.

In boys hockey, four Badger North players were unanimous first-team players, including a trio from the Reedsburg-Wisconsin Dells co-op (RWD Cheavers): Forward Derek Pawlak, defenseman Jon Zobel, and goalie Cooper Oakes, a freshman. Sauk Prairie's Riley Jelinek also earned unanimous selection, and Beaver Dam forward Sam VAnderHoeven and Waunakee defenseman Drew Christianson also made first-team.

The Badger South saw a pair of Edgewood players earn unanimous selection to the all-conference honor roll. Forward Thomas Weis and defenseman Hunter Stracka led the way on the first team, joined by McFarland's Grant Newcomer (forward) and Tucker Jarrett (goalie), Oregon's Zak Roskos (forward), and Monroe's Payton Stauffacher (defenseman).

Girls hockey includes teams from beyond the normal scope of the Badger North/South, but several area athletes made the first-team in the Badger Conference. Viroqua's Abigail Severson was the only unanimous pick on the first team at goalie. Rock County Fury teammates Anika Einbeck, Alyssa Knauf, and Cammi Ganshert, as well as Cap City teammates Zephryn Jager and Mack Rosin, rounded out the honors on the first team.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content