Baseball is back! The MLB returns in one month

After months of back-and-forth between owners and players, baseball is finally returning this summer.

Major League Baseball and the MLBPA have agreed to terms on a 2020 regular season, which will begin July 23 or 24 and wrap up September 27. Teams will have 60 games on their schedule, and will play against teams within their own division as well as the teams from the opposing league's respective geographic division. That means the Milwaukee Brewers will have the bulk of their schedule against the Chicago Cubs, St. Louis Cardinals, Pittsburgh Pirates, and Cincinnati Reds, but will also get to face the Minnesota Twins, Chicago White Sox, Detroit Tigers, Cleveland Indians, and Kansas City Royals.

Spring Training will begin July 1 in home cities for each club.

The season was suspended in March due to the coronavirus pandemic. Part of the plan for returning, and the last obstacle in negotiations, was how the league and players would handle testing, player safety, and other protocols designed to limit the spread of the virus.

Photo: Getty Images

Atlanta Braves v Milwaukee Brewers

Atlanta Braves v Milwaukee Brewers

Fox Sports 1070 The Game · We Are Fox Sports Madison!

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel