Sun Prairie, Poynette, Horicon win state softball championships

Sun Prairie 7, Burlington 1

Sun Prairie (29-0) capped an undefeated season by winning the Division 1 championship at the 2018 State Softball Tournament with a 7-1 victory over Burlington at Goodman Diamond in Madison, Wis., Saturday. Burlington scored a run in the top of the first inning on a Birdi Allen RBI single, driving in Jaina Westphal, who reach on a bunt single to start the game and went to second on a stolen base.The Cardinals took control of the game with six runs in the third inning. They collected five hits in the frame to ignite the rally, which was aided by two Demon errors that led to three unearned runs. Maddie Gardner contributed to the scoring barrage with a two-run single. Katie Tews, Kellyn Herwig and Erin Vertz each batted in runs in the inning.Sun Prairie added another run in the sixth inning on a Tews one-out double, which brought in Schyler Ek, who walked to lead off the inning. Sabrina Reuters and Tews both had two hits to lead the Cardinals’ nine-hit attack. Maddie Gardner held the Demons in check, scattering seven hits and striking out seven to earn the victory. Jaina Westphal had three of Burlington’s seven hits, including a double, to lead the Demon’s offense. Josie Klein was charged with the loss in circle, giving up nine hits and four earned runs while striking out three.It’s the first State championship for Sun Prairie in the program’s fifth tournament appearance. Burlington (22-6) finishes runner-up in the Demons’ fourth experience in the State tournament. 

Whitnall 3, Mosinee 1

Whitnall (26-5) won the Division 2 championship at the 2018 State Softball Tournament with a 3-1 victory over Mosinee at Goodman Diamond in Madison, Wis., Saturday.The Falcons broke a scoreless tie with two runs in the fourth inning. With one out, Mackenzie Sutton reached on a three-base error in the outfield and scored on an Abigail Cunningham grounder to shortstop. Elizabeth Verbraaten ripped a triple to right center field and Katheryn Bay drove her in with a single. The Indians managed just two hits in the game, and their only run of the game came without the benefit of a hit. After walking with one out in the sixth inning, Paige Wicklund scored from first base on a throwing error on a sacrifice bunt by Brooke Wierzbanowski. Whitnall added an insurance run in the top of the seventh inning on a sacrifice fly by Madison Lenzke, which scored Alyssa Trench, who singled to lead off the inning. Haley Wynn tossed a two-hitter for the Falcons, and the lone run she surrendered was unearned. She struck out three and walked a pair over seven innings to post the win. Bay was the only player to collect more the one hit in the game with a pair of singles. Sydni Gburek pitched well in the loss, giving up seven hits and three unearned runs. She struck out three and walked two in seven innings.Whitnall wins its first State championship in its third State appearance, and Mosinee (23-5) finishes runner-up in the Indians’ second tournament appearance.

Poynette 2, Tomahawk 0

Poynette (24-1) was crowned the Division 3 champion at the 2018 State Softball Tournament with a 2-0 shutout over Tomahawk at Goodman Diamond in Madison, Wis., Saturday.Mattie Bredeson was masterful in tossing a one-hitter, surrendering only an infield hit Whitney Osero in the third inning. She struck out nine without issuing a walk.The Pumas scored the only run Bredeson would need in the fourth inning. After Bredeson singled, Peyton Kingsland courtesy ran and stole second and third, and scored on a catcher’s throwing error. They added another run in the sixth. Ashley Hellenbrand tripled with one out and scored when Molly Anderson grounded out to shortstop.Poynette collected five hits as a team and were errorless in the field. Rachel Dallman was saddled with the loss in the circle for the Hatchets. She struck out eight and walked one in seven innings of work The Pumas won their fourth championship, winning the Division 2 title in 1998 and Division 3 titles in 2005 and 2011. Tomahawk (16-8) finishes second in its second experience in the State title game. They were also Class B runners-up in 1983

Horicon 11, Thorp 0

Horicon (28-1) captured the Division 4 championship of 2018 State Softball Tournament with an 11-0 shutout over Thorp at Goodman Diamond in Madison, Wis., Saturday.The Marshladies scored all the runs they needed in the first inning. They plated four without the benefit of a hit. Multiple errors, walks and wild pitches by the Cardinals led to a 4-0 Horicon lead. The Marshladies added another two runs in the second inning on an RBI single by Angie Laabs and a run-scoring double by Jadin Justman.Horicon scored two more in the fourth inning on a sacrifice fly and a squeeze bunt. The Marshladies capped the scoring in the fifth with three runs. Allison Tillema drove in a run with her second sacrifice fly of the game, and two runs scored on errors. Angie Laabs and Amber Jacobson led the Horicon hit parade with two hits apiece. Justman, Cassie Laabs and Tillema each drove in two runs, and Karissa Laabs and Angie Laabs scored three times.Tillema tossed a gem in the circle with a one-hitter, which followed a 5-inning, no-hitter in the semifinals. She was credited with the win, yielding just a bloop hit to center in the fifth inning. She struck out  five and walked two.Paige Rhyner collected the only hit of the game for Thorp. Kaitlyn Tyznik was a victim of five Cardinal errors that resulted in six unearned runs. She struck out six and walked seven.The Marshladies celebrate their third State championship with previous titles coming in Division 3 in 2002 and 2003. Thorp (17-8) finishes runner-up for the third time in four appearances in the State tournament final.

McDonell Catholic 5, Oakfield 2

McDonell Central (20-1) captured the Division 5 championship of 2018 State Softball Tournament with a 5-2 victory over Oakfield at Goodman Diamond in Madison, Wis., Saturday.The Macks scored two unearned runs in both the first and second innings to take a 4-0 lead. Abby Opsal collected a pair of hits in the game, include a two-run single in the first. A costly Oaks’ error in the second inning plated a pair of runs. Oakfield scored two unearned runs in the third on an infield error and a fielder’s choice, and the Macks added an insurance run in the sixth inning on an run-scoring single by Liz Rietschel. Olivia Mlsna chipped in offensively for the Oaks with two hits, and Megan Baier didn’t allow an earned run on five hits with four strikeouts for the complete-game victory in the circle. Vanessa Flury led the Oaks’ hitting attack with two hits, and Avery Conger was changed with the loss, surrendering nine hits and just one earned run. The Macks win their second State title, also winning the Division 4 title in 2008. Oakfield finishes runner-up for the third time in their eighth championship final appearance.

via WIAA press release (here)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content