WIAC Basketball: NCAA Tournament Participants

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater has received a bid into the NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Championship and will host first and second round games March 2-3.

The Warhawks secured an automatic bid into the 64-team field by winning the WIAC Championship (presented by Culver’s). UW-Whitewater (24-3) will square off against UW-Superior (23-4) in the first round with the winner playing Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (Ind.) (24-3) or Gustavus Adolphus College (Minn.) (22-6). UW-Whitewater is making its 10th NCAA appearance in the last 11 seasons and 17th overall. 

For the second consecutive season, three teams will represent the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) in the NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship after University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh, UW-Platteville and UW-Stevens Point earned bids into this year’s field.

UW-Stevens Point (19-8) received an automatic bid into the 64-team event after winning the WIAC Championship (presented by Culver’s). The Pointers will square off against North Central College (Ill.) (19-8) in their opening game in Collegeville, Minn., with the winner facing Saint John’s University (Minn.) (23-3) or Bethany Lutheran College (Minn.) (19-8). UW-Stevens Point is making the 15th NCAA appearance in program history and has won national championships in 2004, 2005, 2010 and 2015.

UW-Oshkosh (20-7) and UW-Platteville (22-4) claimed two of the 21 at-large berths into the championship. The Titans will face Marietta College (Ohio) (21-6) in their first round game in Springfield, Ohio. The winner will play Misericordia University (Pa.) (17-10) or Wittenberg University (Ohio) (26-2) in the second round. UW-Oshkosh is making its third straight postseason showing and eighth overall.

UW-Platteville will host Monmouth College (Ill.) (20-7) in a first round contest with the winner playing St. Olaf College (Minn.) (19-7) or Sul Ross State University (Texas) (22-6) in the second round. The Pioneers, who are making the 11th NCAA appearance in program archives and first since 2009, won national titles in 1991, 1995, 1998 and 1999.

First round games will be held March 2, followed by second round contests on March 3.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content