Cross Country: Middleton boys, Sun Prairie girls win state championship

Boys and girls team and individual champions in three divisions were crowned at the State Cross Country Championships at The Rivers Golf Course in Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., Saturday.

Sun Prairie repeated as the Division 1 girls team champion, scoring 57 points. Muskego finished second with a score of 74, and Onalaska placed third with a score of 174. Individually, Senior Peyton Sippy of Janesville Craig covered the 5,000-meter course in 18:01.56 to win the championship after placing fourth a year ago. Freshman Kate Sperka of Muskego came in second with a time of 18:05.97.

Freedom won its first cross country team title by capturing the Division 2 crown with a score of 68, which was 30 points ahead of second-place Wisconsin Dells with 98. Lake Mills finished third with a score of 118. Junior Dana Feyen of Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau successfully defended her individual title by finishing in a time of 18:39.68. In addition to her two titles, she finished runner-up in 2015. Sophomore Laura Beghin of Wisconsin Dells was runner-up in a time of 18:52.95.

Dodgeland won its first team championship by claiming the Division 3 title with a score of 56. Lancaster placed second with a score of 97. Sophomore Marissa Ellenbecker of Edgar improved on last season’s third-place finish to win the individual championship with a time of 18:56.33. Junior Lydia Murphy of Lancaster was runner-up for the second straight season after finishing seventh in 2015. She covered the course in a time of 19:12.68.

Middleton was the Division 1 boys team champion. The Cardinals tallied a five-runner score of 76 to win its second team championship. Stevens Point was runner-up with 177 points, and South Milwaukee was third with 191. Junior Drew Bosley of Homestead won the individual championship with a time of 15:39.87 after placing runner-up last season. Senior Wesley Schiek of Oshkosh North placed second with a time of 15:45.15 after placing runner-up in Division 3 last season and 10th in 2015 at Valley Christian.

Valders won its third boys cross country team championship with 60 points after placing second last year. Dodgeville/Mineral Point finished in second place with a score of 99, and Port Washington was third with 116. Senior Kavanaugh FitzPatrick of Lakeland ran to the Division 2 championship in a time of 15:52.88. Senior Cody Meyer of Valders was second with a time 16:00.36, just ahead of teammate, senior Trevor Wenzel, who finished third in 16:00.91.

Durand won its first State cross country team championship by posting a score of 79 points to earn the Division 3 title. Darlington came up short in its attempt to win its seventh straight championship, finishing runner-up with a score of 104. Rosholt finished third with a score of 109. Junior David Vannucchi of Luther won the individual championship for the second year in a row in addition to placing 13th as a freshman in 2015. He paced the field with a time of 15:54.83, which is the third fastest time in Division 3 meet history for 5000 meters. Junior Adam Rzentkowski of Rosholt was runner-up with a time of 16:27.32 after placing fourth last year.

Complete Results:

Boys Results

Division 1 Boys Results:  Team | Individual

Division 2 Boys Results:  Team | Individual

Division 3 Boys Results:  Team | Individual

Girls Results

Division 1 Girls Results:  Team | Individual

Division 2 Girls Results:  Team | Individual

Division 3 Girls Results:  Team | Individual

WIAA Press Release - Read it in full here

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content