UW Hockey: Trent Frederic, Tony Granato honored by the Big Ten

Photo: Wisconsin Badgers

It has been 17 years since a Wisconsin men's hockey player won a conference freshman of the year honor, and a whopping 40 years since a Wisconsin head coach was named a conference coach of the year.

Both those droughts have ended as freshman forward Trent Frederic was voted the 2017 Big Ten Freshman of the Year as chosen by the coaches and media, while Tony Granato was picked as the 2017 Big Ten Coach of the Year.

A total of seven Badgers were recognized in some form, including Frederic and Granato.

Frederic was joined by sophomore forward Luke Kunin and junior defenseman Jake Linhart as part of the All-Big Ten second team, while sophomore defenseman Peter Tischke and freshman goaltender Jack Berry earned All-Big Ten honorable mention accolades.

In addition, Frederic was named to the all-freshman team.

Senior forward Aidan Cavallini was named UW's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.

Read more at UWBadgers.com

UW Hockey: Badgers earn second seed in Big Ten Tournament - Thumbnail Image

UW Hockey: Badgers earn second seed in Big Ten Tournament

For more on Wisconsin:

bsn badger sports network footer

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content